I have all the time in the world!

Standard

Right around 20 weeks, this easy pregnancy no longer felt easy. Every single thing I did felt like it required more effort than running a marathon. I just remember feeling like garbage all the time. I’ve never been this pregnant before, so I didn’t know what was normal and what wasn’t.

Around 26 weeks at a routine appointment, I had my blood pressure checked. It was high. Woopy Doo I thought, ever since I was about 10 weeks I’ve had doctors telling me my blood pressure was high, only for it to come down and me to leave the appointment and go about my merry way. I thought nothing of it when she double checked it. Had another nurse check it, twice.

I had already spilled the beans about my trip to visit my parents the next day in Texas. At that point, the doctor informed me that I would need to go to triage in the hospital for additional tests and monitoring. To be honest, I didn’t take it too seriously. I felt like shit, but I thought it was normal to feel like that. My blood pressure was high, but after some time it came down like it always had before… around 140/90.

They asked me if I had pain in my liver, kidneys, a headache that wouldn’t go away, swelling. I had none of this. They ran some tests and they came back normal. I was released and told that if I had any of these symptoms that I would need to go to labor and delivery once I made it to Texas.

The next day in Texas, I felt like crap… I chalked it up to travel. The following day, we went to the Space center in Houston. I didn’t walk around too much. We were on our way home, and I looked down at my feet. Once I got in the car, I noticed it.. HOLY SHIT I COULD NO LONGER SEE MY ANKLES. They were gone. Swollen. I started to freak out a little bit because it seemed like now things were happening that they were warning me about at the hospital.

I had my mom take me to a few pharmacies to have my bp checked. It was 150/98. SHIT! Well I thought, I really don’t want to get stuck in a hospital in Texas. I brought my Doppler. I knew baby was okay. I convinced myself that I could drink a ton of water and cure myself of the swelling. So I took it easy and the swelling went down and all was right with the world.

I had a doctor appointment for Tuesday the day after we returned from Texas. At the appointment she took my blood pressure and everything was fine.

See, I knew I was okay.

The next day I had an ultrasound. That morning I woke up with a headache. WAIT, A HEADACHE. So after my ultrasound I called the doctors office and informed them of my headache. As they instructed me to do. I expected them to bring me in to check my blood pressure as the word preeclampsia had been thrown around. Instead, they told me to take a Tylenol cold and sinus. They said I probably was getting sick. WTF.

I went to my house to lay down because I just didn’t feel good. After a little while, I knew something was wrong. I decided to go to work and have the nurse check my blood pressure. It was 170/105. I called the doctor and was told to go back to the hospital for additional monitoring. I was hooked up to a machine and after a few hours, my blood pressure dropped down. At that point, the doctors told me to go home, get bed rest, and to get an appointment with my doctor to discuss blood pressure medication.

At that appointment, the doctor informed me that I was brewing. I started that medication Sept 23rd. I immediately felt better. The baby was more active. Whew. I felt better about the situation. Three days later I started to feel like shit again. My nurse at work checked my blood pressure, in spite of the blood pressure meds my blood pressure was 160/108. I called the doctor and was sent to triage for more monitoring.

Again, I was sent home. As my blood pressure did eventually come down. I was told to stay in bed the remainder of the weekend.

The next appointment was a routine blood pressure check, I passed. Bed rest helped. I also submitted my urine for another total protein test. I also did a one hour glucose test.

I failed my one hour glucose test and now had some more protein in my urine. 329 mgs.

As luck would have it, I also failed my three hour glucose test and could add gestational diabetes to my running list of problems.

The next day, at my doctors appointment my blood pressure was 160/100. I was immediately admitted for an extended stay in the high risk unit in the hospital. I have been here for 10 days with no end in sight. I was given steroid injections to help develop Little Miss’s lungs faster. So far she’s doing great which is awesome and all I really care about. They are anticipating her arrival much earlier than we initially expected. My protein is creeping up. My blood pressure goes up, so do my medsd, it goes down, then creeps back up.

Yesterday I missed my brothers wedding. Next Saturday is my baby shower. Im getting a little grumpy.

I am 31 weeks and four days pregnant.

Ill elaborate more later, but for right now… this computer has deleted this post like 5 times and Im super annoyed. I promise to bring a better attitude to my next post.

6 responses »

  1. Be been wondering how you were doing! Sounds like you’ve been going through the wringer a little bit. I’m glad baby girl is doing okay and that you are being monitored, although I’m sure you probably are bored out of your mind! I’m so happy to hear that you’ve made it past the 31 week mark. It’s still really early, but baby should be okay! Thank you so much for the operate. Hugs, my friend!

  2. Oh boy this sounds like it hasn’t been fun. I’m glad that your daughter is doing well and although it stinks, it sounds like being monitored in the hospital is the safest place for you to be.

Leave a Reply

